Buntman Family Achievement Award

Awarded to an undergraduate student who has shown the most potential and commitment in second-year History of Art.

Primary criteria for consideration:
Awards are made to students who have demonstrated academic development during the year of study in the relevant courses; have shown an interest in history of art; have demonstrated of an improvement in a range of course marks; shown evidence of particpation in classes, energy, investment and enthusiasm for the relevant course work and degree programme.

Financial need will also be considered as part of the awarding of the awards and scholarships.

History of Art staff are responsible for decisions regarding this award which is made in the 1st term of the academic year.


Recipients have included:

Kent Williams (2014)

Karin Tan (2013)

Tatenda Magaisa (2012)

Amy van den Houten (2011)

Danielle Khoury (2010)

Akinoluwa Oyedele (2009)

Diale Mabitsela (2008)



Standard Bank Group Undergraduate African Art Prize

Awarded to the best undergraduate essay in African Art Studies.


Recipients have included:

Kent Williams (2014)

Daniella Dagnin (2013)

Janeé Caboz (2012)

Victoria Wigzell (2011)

Mika Conradie (2010)

Catherine Spiller (2009)

Alice Edy (2008)

Johannesburg Art Gallery Prize

Sponsored by the Friends of the Johannesburg Art Gallery, this prize is awarded to the top- achieving student in third-year History of Art.


Recipients have included:

Michael Crouch (2013)

Anna Wahl (2012)

Josephine Vorster (2011)

Chiara Rech (2010)

Kate Lewis (2009)

Paula Munsie (2008)

Standard Bank Group African Art Honours Essay Prize

Awarded for the best Honours essay on a topic in African Art studies.


Recipients have included:

Gordon Massie (2014)

Janus Boshoff and Lisa King (2013)

No award in 2012

Mika Conradie (2011)

Stacey Vorster (2010)

Mary Corrigall (2009)

Leigh Blanckenberg (2008)

Stein-Lessing Scholarship

Maria Stein-Lessing left Germany in 1933 for London and, after receiving her Doctorate from the University of Bonn, travelled to South Africa in 1936, where she remained until her tragic death in 1961. She is remembered by those close to her as an eccentric person and an outstanding lecturer in History of Art at Wits. Her wide knowledge and passion for art left an indelible mark on her students and her adopted country. She is especially remembered for her shop ‘l’Afrique’, which she opened in the 1940s in the city of Johannesburg and which became a vital reference point for students and collectors of traditional African art.

This scholarship is awarded by application to a promising postgraduate student pursuing studies in History of Art.

Calls for applications will be announced annually.


Previous recipients have included: 

Katherine Wheeler and Vu Horwitz (2015)