We have a thirty year history of producing multi-faceted entrepreneurial individuals who are committed to creating stimulating and socially meaningful work.

Our graduates pursue a range of theatre and performance related careers, as the list of distinguished alumni attests. Many of these individuals have crossed the boundaries of conventional disciplines within the arts and in this sense epitomize the training outcomes of the division. A number of our graduates, including Simangele Mabena, Nobulali Dangazele,  and Lunga Radebe, have been recipients of the Nelson Mandela Rhodes Scholarship for overseas post-graduate study. Other notable alumni, of local and international repute, include:

On stage and screen: Keketso Semoko, Vusi Kunene, Hlomla Dandala, Tumisho Masha, Mathew Ribnick, Gerard Bester, Nicholas Welsch, Rosie Motene, Masasa Mbangeni, Zane Meas, Adam Croasdell, Emmanuel Castis, Vaneshran Arumugam, Edward Baker Duly, Roberto Pombo, Bryan van Niekerk, Asher Stoltz, Nat Ramabulana, Louise Barnes, Jo da Silva, Nic Boraine, Tumi Morake, Jemma Kahn, Antony Coleman, Wayne van Rooyen, Atandwa Kani, Mpho Osei-Tutu, Jerry Mntonga, Gontse Ntshegang, Hayley Owen,  Claudine Ullman, Emilie Owen, Jeremy Richard,  Tony Miyambo, Khutjo Green, and many more.

Recipients of the Standard Bank Young Artist Award for Theatre / Drama: Yael Farber, Jerry Mofokeng, Aubrey Sekhabi, Lara Foot, and Greg Homann

Other multi-award winning writers and directors: Thomas Hall, Craig Freimond, Pusetso Thibedi, Jefferson Tshabalala, Jayne Batzofin, Khayelihle Dominique Gumede, Samantha Nell, Colin Olifant, and many more.

Designers (in theatre, film, television and production/events): Lauren Wilensky, Lisa Younger, Bardley Goss, Sasha Ehlers, Wilhelm Disbergen, Jo Glanville, Jemma Kahn, Samantha Hunter, Catherine Walker, Alex-Anne Keppie, Courtney Watts, and many more.

Theatre management and arts administrators: Aubrey Sekhabi (Artsitic Director of the South African State Theatre) Lara Foot (Artsitic Director of the Baxter Theatre), Jerry Mofokeng (Artsitic Director of PACOFS), Nicci Spalding (Technical Director – National Arts Festival, Grahamstown), Bongani Linda, Dean McKain, Sarah Hallett, Johan Kupferburger, Perrin Anderson, Karabo Legoabe, Megan Godsell, Madeleine Lambert, Johanna Mavhungo and many more.

Independent entrepreneurs/producers: Megan Wilson (industrial and corporate theatre/training programmes), Neil Lessick (corporate events and entertainment), Monique Garden & Brett Lotriet (television production companies), Lali Dangazele, and many more.

Journalists: Mathew Krouse, Tymon Smith.

Film makers: Ntshavheni wa Luruli, Andrew Worsdale, Mark Vicente, Mark Middlewick, and Craig Freimond.

News Announcers – SATV3: Jane Warden and Joanne Joseph.